ZoomBomb Protection

Zoom Bombing is a malicious prank inflicted on many teachers who are transitioning their classes to distance learning. It involves un-invited guests gaining access to a class with the intent of disrupting it. Sometimes, the disruption is relatively benign such as verbally interrupting the presenter or posting annoying messages in the group chat. Other times, however, Zoom Bomb attacks involve disturbing hate speech, and sometimes bombers can take control of the shared screen to display pornography, or images of violence.

It is critical that teachers take some simple steps to insure that their Zoom classes are protected from Zoom Bombing. Zoom provides several tools to make this possible, and we are using these tools in different ways based on how our students are connecting to Zoom meetings.

    1. Authentication Required - This setting prevents people without d-e.org Zoom accounts from joining your meeting. Sometimes this settings is required on teacher accounts.

    2. Password Required - This setting requires a password to be entered before someone can join a Zoom meeting. Sometimes this setting is required for staff who need to host Zoom meetings with people outside of D-E.

    3. Requiring That Passwords Be Shared Separately - Initially, LS accounts were set up so that the meeting links included the password. This meant that participants could join simply by clicking on the link and did not have to enter the password separately. This has been changed to OFF. Now people hosting password protected meetings will need to share the meeting password with participants separately through eMail.

    4. Participant Screen Sharing off by default -- By default, only the host will be able to share his or her screen in a meeting. This can be changed during the meeting to allow any participant to share the screen.

    5. Waiting Room - This is a holding area for participants before they enter a Zoom meeting. When enabled, people wait here and can't see or communicate with any other participants. For Lower School teachers, we will be requiring the waiting room feature. For MS and US teachers, whose meetings will already require d-e.org authentication, we will be setting this as the default, but allowing teachers to change it.

Note that with the waiting room feature enabled, teachers will need to keep an eye on the "manage participants" list. If someone arrives late to class, she or he will remain in the waiting room until the teacher admits them. See below for how to manage participants in the waiting room.

1. As the meeting host, click "manage participants"

2. Click "Admit" on the participant you want to admit, or click "Admit All."